The NASA Parker Solar Probe (PSP) mission, which launched on August 12, 2018, is currently reaching perihelia as low as 13.3 solar radii. This unprecedented proximity to the solar corona has now allowed us to observe the sub-Alfvénic solar wind and address key aspects of the mission’s main science objectives: (1) Trace the flow of energy that heats and accelerates the solar corona and solar wind; (2) Determine the structure and dynamics of the plasma and magnetic fields at the sources of the solar wind; and (3) Explore mechanisms that accelerate and transport energetic particles.

The second annual Parker Solar Probe community workshop, Parker Two, will be a hybrid meeting from June 21 - 24, 2022 with an in-person component at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory (APL) in Laurel, MD, and an online component using Zoom. The meeting will highlight discoveries from the first eleven encounters of the Parker Solar Probe mission. Abstracts from the solar, heliospheric, and plasma physics communities involving relevant theory, simulations, data analysis, and coordinated observations with ground and other space-based observatories are encouraged. Presentation formats will include poster, oral, and splinter sessions.

APL requires that in-person attendees be fully vaccinated. This is not a NASA-sponsored conference and registration in the NASA Conference Tracking System (NCTS) is not required.

In response to the improving situation in Howard County, APL no longer requires that masks be worn indoors. Masking at the conference is encouraged though not required.

Important Information

  • All attendees must register in order to attend the conference.
  • Abstracts may be submitted prior to registering.

Important Dates

  • Registration Opens: January 15, 2022

    Registration Deadline: June 3, 2022

  • Abstract Submission Opens: January 15, 2021

    Abstract Deadline: March 31, 2022

    Talk/Poster Decisions Announced: April 30, 2022

    Poster Submission Deadline: June 10, 2022

Subscribe to eNews

Join the Parker Series eNews list to receive updates about the mission.

Subscribe Now

Science Organizing Committee

  • Robert C. Allen (Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab.)
  • Sam Badman (Univ. of California, Berkeley)
  • Ben Chandran (Univ. of New Hampshire)
  • Nina Dresing (Univ. of Turku)
  • Rachael Filwett (Univ. of Iowa)
  • Phil Hess (Naval Research Lab.)
  • Kris Klein (Univ. of Arizona)
  • Jean Perez (Florida Tech.)
  • Pete Riley (Predictive Science)
  • Mitchell Shen (Princeton Univ.)

Invited Speakers

  • Marco Velli (UCLA)
  • Nicki Viall (NASA/GSFC)
  • Ronan Laker (Imperial College London)
  • Anna Tenerani (UT Austin)
  • Jaye Verniero (NASA/GSFC)
  • Erika Palmerio (Predictive Science)
  • Christina Cohen (CalTech)
  • Russ Howard (APL)

Subscribe to receive updates!

Join the Parker Series eNews list to receive updates about the mission.

If you no longer wish to receive Parker Events E-News, please click here to be taken to the unsubscribe page.